FREE Ontario Wide Shipping on ALL Orders Over $100

Our Story

Built in the late 1800’s, the Black Bellows brewpub was originally a blacksmith and carriage-making shop owned by the Dey family. By the 1940’s the shop had retooled as an auto body shop. By the time Black Bellows took over the building in 2018 it had been in the Dey family for over 140 years, making it the longest-running business in Collingwood history.

Like the blacksmiths of the past and the makers and creators of today, Black Bellows believes in the spirit of relentless invention, it’s why we support imagination in the community. It’s why we embrace a no-rules approach to brewing. It’s why Black Bellows is a place where the old is transformed into the fantastically new. Forge ahead on an adventure of beer, food, and art right in the heart of Collingwood’s historic downtown.

Our Brewpub

Black Bellows is a place where friends meet, surrounded by joyful ambiance and art, to experience expertly crafted beers and food. Whether in our funky parlour, spacious beerhall or two separate patios, guests have plenty of space for everything from after work beers to wedding rehearsal dinners. All of our beer is brewed on site in our hand-built 17.5 hL brewhouse, which feeds 35 hL fermenters and a 35 hL American oak foeder. All of this is housed in our unique, eclectic building that consists of an 1800s carriage shop and forge, an 1940s auto body shop, and a modern-day addition. Needless to say our location has long been an exciting place, and central to Collingwood life.


This wide open space features beerhall-style seating at six large elm-plank tables, as well as bar seating, three smaller tables in our cozy banquette, and window seating for watching the world go by. With funky art and a great view of the brewery, it is a great place to bring a group of friends, family or strangers to taste everything Black Bellows has to offer. We use the beerhall for larger events such as our renowned trivia nights and our epic halloween party. With 12 beers on tap as well as local artisanal cider and Ontario wine, our draught system is the workhorse at the centre of the restaurant. Need something else? We also have a great wine list and some killer cocktails. 


The oldest part of Black Bellows, and where the original bellows stoked coal fires for the forges (the chimneys are still there), our Parlour is warm, cozy, funky and perfect for your private event. With its own separate bar, this space is often used for intimate concerts, comedy shows, birthday parties, corporate dinners or anything else you can dream up.